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- Glossary
of Important Mortgage Terms
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Adjustable Rate
Mortgage (ARM):
Mortgage loans under which the interest rate is periodically adjusted to more closely coincide
are agreed to at the inception of the loan.
Alternative
Credit Documentation: The use of revolving accounts not
listed on a consumer credit report, used to compensate for
poor or insufficient consumer credit ratings.
Amortization: The systematic and
continuous payment of an obligation through installments until
the debt has been paid in full. |
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Annual Percentage Rate (APR): A term used in the Truth-in-Lending Act to
present the percentage relationship of the total finance charge to the amount of the loan.
The APR reflects the cost of the mortgage loan as a yearly rate. It could be higher than the
interest rate stated on the Note because it includes, in addition to the interest rate, loan
discount points, miscellaneous fees and mortgage insurance.
Appraisal: A
report made by a qualified person (normally a state-licensed appraiser) setting forth an opinion or
estimate of property value. (Appraisal also refers to the process through which a conclusion
on property value is derived.)
Appraisal Amount or Appraised Value: The fair market value of a home determined
by an independent appraisal. The appraisal uses local real estate market sales activity as
a major basis for valuation.
Appreciation: An increase in the value of a property due to market conditions
or other causes. The opposite is depreciation.
Balloon Mortgage: A fixed-rate mortgage for a set number of years and then
must be paid off in full in a single "balloon" payment. Balloon loans are popular
with borrowers expecting to sell or refinance their property within a definite period of time.
Bankruptcy: Legal relief from the payment of all debts after the surrender
of all assets to a court-appointed trustee. Assets are distributed to creditors as full satisfaction
of debts, with certain priorities and exemptions. A person, firm or corporation may declare
bankruptcy under one of several chapters of the U. S. Bankruptcy Code: Chapter 7 covers liquidation
of the debtor's assets; Chapter 11 covers reorganization of bankrupt businesses; Chapter 13
covers payment of debts by individuals through a bankruptcy plan.
Cap: The limit placed on adjustments that can be made to the interest rate
or payments such as the annual cap on an adjustable rate loan (ARM) or the cap on a rate over
the life of the loan.
Cash-out Refinance: To refinance the mortgage on a property for more than
the principal owed. This allows the borrower to get cash from the equity in their home. Loan
products may vary on how much can be borrowed on a cash-out refinance.
Closer: The person who coordinates the closing time with the Client Coordinator
and reviews and prepares the necessary closing documents.
Closing: Also known as settlement, the finalization of the process of purchasing
or refinancing real estate. The closing includes the delivery of a Deed, the signing of Notes
and the disbursement of funds
Closing Costs: Costs that are due at closing, in addition to the purchase
price of the property. These costs normally include, but are not limited to, origination fee,
discount points, attorney's fees, costs for title insurance, surveys, recording documents,
and prepayment of real estate taxes and insurance premiums held by the lender. Sometimes the
seller will help the borrower pay some of these costs.
Closing Statement: An accounting of the debits and credits incurred at closing.
All FHA, VA and Conventional financing loans use a Uniform Closing or Settlement Statement
commonly referred to as the HUD-1.
Co-Borrower: A party who signs the mortgage note along with the primary borrower,
and who also shares title to the subject real estate.
Collateral: Property pledged as security for a debt. For example, real estate
that secures a mortgage. Collateral can be repossessed if the loan is not repaid.
Combined Loan To Value (CLTV): The mathematical relationship between the
total of all loan amounts (first mortgage plus subordinate liens) and the value of the subject
property.
Community Reinvestment Act (CRA): This act requires financial institutions
to meet the credit needs of their community, including low and moderate-income sections of
the local community. It also requires banks to make reports concerning their investment in
the areas where they do business.
Condominium: A form of property ownership in which the homeowner holds title
to an individual dwelling unit, an undivided interest in common areas of a multi-unit project,
and sometimes the exclusive use of certain limited common areas. All condominiums must meet
certain investor requirements.
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Conforming
Loan: A loan with a mortgage amount that does not
exceed that which is eligible for purchase by FNMA or FHLMC. All
loans are considered either as conforming or non-conforming,
also known as jumbo.
Conventional Loan:
A mortgage loan not insured or guaranteed by the
federal
government. |
Conversion Option: Options to convert an adjustable rate mortgage or balloon
loan to a fixed rate mortgage under specified conditions.
Co-Signer: A party who signs the mortgage note along with the borrower, but
who does not own or have any interest in the title to the property.
Creditor: A person to whom debt is owed by another person who is the "debtor".
Credit Rating: A rating given a person or company to establish credit-worthiness
based upon present financial condition, experience and past credit history.
Credit Report: A document completed by a credit-reporting agency providing
information about the buyer's credit cards, previous mortgage history, bank loans and public
records dealing with financial matters.
Debt to Income Ratio: Compares the amount of monthly income to the amount
the borrower will owe each month in house payment (PITI) plus other debts. The other debts
may include but not limited to car payment, credit cards, alimony, child support, and personal
loans. This ratio is commonly used to see if the borrower has the capacity to repay the debt.
Deed of Trust: A legal document that conveys title to real estate to a disinterested
third party (trustee) who holds the title until the owner of the property has repaid the debt.
In states where it is used, a Deed of Trust accomplishes essentially the same purpose as a
Mortgage.
Default: Failure to comply with the terms of any agreement. In real estate,
generally used in connection with a mortgage obligation to refer to the failure to comply
with the terms of the Promissory Note. Most often this default is a failure to make payments,
however, there are other means by which a borrower may default, such as the failure to pay
real estate taxes.
Depreciation: A decline in the value of property. The opposite of appreciation.
Discount Points: A percentage of the loan amount which is charged or credited
by the lender upon making a mortgage loan. Loans that are made at the
present market rate, with no points, are considered to be made at
"par." Because of the lender's ability to charge or credit points on
an individual loan, the lender is able to tailor a loan program and
interest rate to fit the needs of each individual borrower. Discount
points can be negotiated in the Purchase Contract to be paid by either
the seller or the borrower.
Each point equals 1% of the mortgage loan.
For example, a charge of 1 point on a $50,000 loan would result in a charge of $500; 1/2 point
would be $250 ($50,000 x .50%).
Down Payment: The part of the purchase price which the buyer pays in cash
and does not finance with a mortgage.
Earnest Money: Deposit made by a purchaser of real estate as evidence of
good faith.
Equal Credit Opportunity Act (ECOA): Also known as Regulation B. A federal
law that prohibits a lender from discriminating in mortgage lending on the basis of race,
color, religion, national origin, sex, marital status, age, income derived from public assistance
programs, or previous exercise of Consumer Credit Protection Act rights.
Equity: The difference between the current market value of a property and
the principal balance of all outstanding loans.
Escrow Account: An account held by the lending institution to which the borrower
pays monthly installments for property taxes, insurance, and special assessments, and from
which the lender disburses these sums as they become due.
Fair Credit Reporting Act: Regulated the collection and distribution of information
by the consumer credit reporting industry. It also affects how financial institutions collect
and convey credit information about loan applicants or borrowers.
Fair Housing Act: Prohibits the denial or variance of the terms of real estate
related transactions based on race, color, religion, sex, national origin, disability, or
familiar status of the credit applicant. Real estate related transactions include a mortgage,
home improvement, or other loans secured by a dwelling.
Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation (FHLMC): Also known as Freddie Mac.
A publicly owned corporation created by Congress to support the secondary mortgage market.
It purchases and sells conventional residential mortgages as well as residential mortgages
insured by the Federal Housing Administration (FHA) or guaranteed by the Veterans Administration
(VA).
Federal National Mortgage Association (FNMA): Also known as Fannie Mae. A
privately owned corporation to support the secondary mortgage market. It adds liquidity to
the mortgage market by investing in home loans through the country.
FICO Score: A credit score given to a person that establishes creditworthiness
based on present financial condition, experience and past credit history.
Finance Charge: The cost of credit as a dollar amount (i.e. total amount
of interest and specific other loan charges to be paid over the term of the loan and other
loan charges to be paid by the borrower at closing). Loan charges include origination fees,
discount points, mortgage insurance, and other applicable charges. If the seller pays any
of these charges, they cannot be included in the finance charge.
Financial Statement: A summary of facts showing an individual's or company's
financial condition. For individuals, it states their assets and liabilities as of a given
date. For a company it should include a Profit and Loss Statement (P&L) for a certain
period of time and balance sheet, stating assets and liabilities as of a given date.
First Mortgage: A real estate loan that creates a primary lien against real
property.
First Rate Adjustment -- First rate adjustment after: In association with
an Adjustable Rate Mortgage loan, this is the number of months after which the loan has closed
when the first interest rate adjustment will occur.
First Rate Adjustment -- Maximum rate decrease: In association with an Adjustable
Rate Mortgage loan, this is the most the interest rate can decrease during the first adjustment
period.
First Rate Adjustment -- Maximum rate increase: In association with an Adjustable
Rate Mortgage loan, this is the most the interest rate can increase during the first adjustment
period.
Fixed Rate Mortgage: The type of loan where the interest rate will not change
for the entire term of the loan.
Floating: The term used when a purchaser elects not to lock-in an interest
rate at the time of application.
Flood Insurance: Insurance that compensates for direct physical damages by
or from flood to the insured property subject to the terms, provisions, conditions and losses
not covered provision of the policy. It is required for mortgages on properties located in
federally designated flood areas.
Good Faith Estimate (GFE): An estimate of settlement charges paid by the
borrower at closing. The Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act (RESPA) requires a Good Faith
Estimate of settlement charges be provided to the borrower.
Gift Letter: A letter or affidavit that indicates that part of a borrower's
down payment is supplied by relatives or friends in the form of a gift and that the gift does
not have to be repaid.
Gross Income: A person's income before deduction for income taxation.
Hazard Insurance: Insurance against losses caused by perils which are commonly
covered in policies described as a "Homeowner Policy".
Home Maintenance: Costs associated with maintaining a home. This may include,
but not limited to, general repairs, replacement or repair of furnace, air conditioning, roof,
plumbing and electrical systems.
Home Mortgage Disclosure Act (HMDA): Also known as Regulation C. The purpose
of HMDA is to provide disclosure of mortgage lending application activity (home purchase or
improvement) to regulators and the public. Information is collected on each application, and
is recorded on a log that is compiled to produce a report on application activity by geographic
designation (census tract).
Homeowners Association (HOA): A non-profit corporation or association that
manages common areas and services of a Condominium or Planned Unit Development (PUD).
Homeowners Insurance: Insurance that covers damage to the residence
and liability claims made against the insured subject to the policy terms, conditions, provisions,
losses not insured provision and exclusions.
Housing Expense Ratio: Ratio used to determine the borrowers capacity to
repay a home loan. The ratio compares monthly income to the house payment (Principal, Interest,
Taxes and Insurance).
Index: In connection with ARM loans, the external measurement used by a Lender
to determine future changes which are to occur to an adjustable loan program. These will typically
be published rates that are independent of the Lender's control, such as a Treasury Bill.
Initial Interest Rate: The beginning interest rate at the start of an adjustable
rate mortgage (ARM). It may be lower than the fully indexed rate or "going market rate"
and it will remain constant until it is adjusted up or down on the adjustment date.
Interest: The amount paid by a borrower to a lender for the use of the lender's
money for a certain period of time. The amount paid by a bank on some deposit accounts.
Interest Income: The potential income from funds which would have been used
for the down payment, closing costs, and any difference (increase) between monthly rental
payment and monthly mortgage payment.
Interest Rate: The percentage of an amount of money that is paid for its
use for a specific time; usually expressed as an annual percentage.
Judgment: Decree of a court declaring that one individual is indebted to
another and fixing the amount of such indebtedness.
Jumbo Loan: A loan above the limit set by the Federal National Mortgage Association
(Fannie Mae) and the Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation (Freddie Mac). Also referred to
as a non-conforming loan.
Late Charge: An additional charge a borrower is required to pay as a penalty
for failure to pay a regular mortgage loan installment when due; a penalty for a delinquent
payment.
Lien: A legal claim against a property that must be paid off when the property
is sold. A lien is created when you borrow money and use your home as collateral for the loan.
Life of Loan: Maximum rate increase or decrease: In association with an Adjustable
Rate Mortgage loan, this is the most the interest can increase or decrease over the life of
the mortgage loan.
Loan Application: A source of information on which the lender bases a decision
to make or not make a loan; defines the terms of the loan contract, gives the names of the
borrower(s), place of employment, salary, bank accounts, credit references, real estate owned,
and describes the property to be mortgaged.
Loan Balance: The amount of remaining unpaid principal balance owed by the
borrower.
Loan Term: Number of years a loan is amortized. Mortgage loan terms are generally
15, 20, or 30 years.
Loan-to-Value (LTV): The ratio of the total amount borrowed on a mortgage
against a property, compared to the appraised value of the property. A LTV ratio of 90 means
that the borrower is borrowing 90% of the value of the property and paying 10% as a down payment.
For purchases, the value of the property is the lesser of the purchase price or the appraised
value. For refinances the value is determined by an appraisal.
Loan-to-Value Ratio: The ratio, expressed as a percentage, of the amount
of the loan (numerator) to the value or selling price of real property (denominator). For
example, if you have an $80,000 1st mortgage on a home with an appraised value of $100,000,
the LTV is 80% ($80,000 / $100,000 = 80%).
Lock-In: A written agreement between the lender and borrower for a specified
period of time in which the lender will hold a specific interest rate, origination and/or
discount point(s).
Margin: Under the terms of an adjustable rate mortgage (ARM), the margin
is a set adjustment to the index. The particular loan product determines the amount of the
margin.
Median Income: The middle income level. Half of the incomes would be higher
than the median income and half of the incomes would be below the median income. This is not
to be confused with an average income.
Mortgage: The written instrument used to
pledge a title to real estate as security for repayment of a
Promissory Note. Because of the flexible payment terms, mortgages are the most popular
financing instrument used to acquire a property.
Mortgage Insurance: Insurance written in connection with a mortgage
loan that indemnifies the lender in the event of borrower default. In
connection with conventional loan transactions, this insurance is
commonly referred to as Private Mortgage Insurance (PMI).
Mortgage Note: A written promise to pay a sum of money at a stated interest
rate during a specified term. It is typically secured by a mortgage.
Mortgage Servicing: Controlling the necessary duties of a mortgagee, such
as collecting payments, releasing the lien upon payment in full, foreclosing if in default,
and making sure the taxes are paid, insurance is in force, etc. The lender or a company acting
for the lender, for a servicing fee, may do servicing. (Also called Loan Servicing.)
Mortgagee: The institution, group, or individual that lends money on the
security of pledged real estate; the association, the lender.
Mortgagee Clause: This is the clause that is typically used
for hazard insurance and flood insurance.
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Mortgagor: The owner of real estate who pledges his property as security
for the repayment of a debt; the borrower.
Net Income: The difference between effective gross income and expense including
taxes and insurance. The term is qualified as net income before depreciation and debt.
Non-Conforming: A loan with a mortgage amount that exceeds that which is
eligible for purchase by FNMA or FHLMC. All other loans above this amount are considered to
be non-conforming or jumbo loans.
Non-Owner-Occupied Property: Property purchased by a borrower not for a primary
residence but as an investment with the intent of generating rental income, tax benefits,
and profitable resale.
Note: A written promise by one party to pay a specific sum of money to a
second party under conditions agreed upon mutually. Also called "promissory note."
Note Rate: The interest rate on the mortgage loan.
Origination Fee: A fee paid to a lender for processing a loan application;
it is stated as a percentage of the mortgage amount.
Owner-Occupied Property: The borrower or a member of the immediate family
lives in the property as a primary residence.
PITI: Term commonly used to refer to a mortgage loan payment. Acronym stands
for Principal, Interest, Taxes, and Insurance.
Planned Unit Development (PUD): A housing project that may consist of any
combination of homes (one-family to four-family), condominiums, and various other styles.
In a PUD, often the individual unit and the land upon which it sits are owned by the unit/homeowner;
however, the homeowner's association owns common facilities.
Pre-Approval: A process in which a customer provides appropriate information
on income, debts and assets that will be used to make a credit only loan decision. The customer
typically has not identified a property to be purchased, however, a specific sales price and
loan amount are used to make a loan decision. (The sales price and loan amount are based on
customer assumptions)
Pre-Qualification: A process designed to assist a customer in determining
a maximum sales price, loan amount and PITI payment they are qualified for. A pre-qualification
is not considered a loan approval. A customer would provide basic information (income, debts,
assets) to be used to determine the maximum sales price, etc.
Prepaid Expenses or Prepaids: The term used to describe the funds the Lender
requires to be deposited to establish the escrow account for taxes and insurance at the time
of closing (also refers to Prepaid Interest).
Prepaid Interest: Interest that the borrower pays the lender before it becomes
due.
Prepayment: A loan repayment made in advance of its contractual due date.
Prepayment Penalty: A penalty under a Note, Mortgage or Deed of Trust imposed
when the loan is paid before its maturity date.
Principal and Interest: Two components of a monthly mortgage payment. Principal
refers to the portion of the monthly payment that reduces the remaining balance for the mortgage.
Interest is the fee charged for borrowing money.
Principal Balance: The outstanding balance of a mortgage, not counting interest.
Principal, Interest, Real Estate Tax, Insurance Payment: The total mortgage
payment which includes principal, interest, taxes and insurance.
Private Mortgage Insurance (PMI): Insurance against a loss by a lender in
the event of default by a borrower (mortgagor). A private insurance company issues this insurance.
The premium is paid by the borrower and is included in the mortgage payment.
Processing: Gathering the loan application and all required supporting documents
(including the property appraisal, credit report, credit history, and income and expenses)
so that a lender can consider the borrower for a loan.
Promissory Note: A document in which the borrower promises to pay a stated
amount on a specific date. The note normally states the name of the lender, the terms of payment
and any interest rate.
Property Taxes: Taxes assessed on real estate. Property taxes are based on
valuations by local and or state governments.
Purchase Agreement: A written agreement between a buyer and seller of real property, that
states the price and terms of the sale. (a.k.a. Sales Contract)
Purchase Price: The total amount paid for a home.
Qualifying Income Ratios: Income analysis used by lenders in deciding whether
to offer the borrower a loan. One type of analysis compares only the amount of the proposed
monthly mortgage payment to the monthly income. Another compares the amount of the total monthly
payments (for example car, credit card and proposed mortgage payments) to the monthly income.
Rate Index: An index used to adjust the interest rate of an adjustable mortgage
loan.
Real Estate Appreciation Rate: Percentage increase in the value of real estate,
expressed at an annual rate.
Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act (RESPA): A consumer protection law
that requires, among other things, lenders to give borrowers advance notice of closing costs.
Realtor: A person licensed to negotiate and transact the sale of real estate
on behalf of the property owner. A real estate broker or associate must hold active membership
in a real estate board affiliated with the National Association of Realtors.
Recording Fee: The amount paid to the recorder's office in order to make
a document a matter of public record.
Regulation Z: Federal Reserve regulation issued under the Truth-in-Lending
Act, which, among other things, requires that a credit purchaser be advised in writing of
all costs connected with the credit portion of the loan.
Rental Payment: A payment made to use another's property. The amount of the
rent is determined in a contract and is typically paid monthly.
Renters Insurance: Insurance against perils which are commonly covered in
policies described as a "Renters Policy".
Repayment: The payment of a mortgage loan over a period of time established
when the loan is originated.
Rescind: To avoid or cancel in such a way as to treat the contract or other
object of the rescission as if it never existed.
Sales Contract: A written agreement between parties stating all terms and
conditions of a sale.
Savings Rate: The interest rate a person expects to earn on a savings account
or investment account.
Secondary Market: An informal market where existing mortgages are bought
and sold. It is the traditional aftermarket for mortgage loans that brings together lenders
that sell mortgages with lenders, investors and agencies that buy mortgages.
Seller Contribution: The seller may be paying some or all of the borrower's
cost. The amount of the contribution has limitations.
Selling Costs: The costs incurred in selling a home. This could include Realtor
expenses and other miscellaneous expenses such as painting or minor repairs to prepare the
home for sale.
Servicing: All the management and operational procedures that the mortgage
company handles for the life of the loan, up through foreclosure if necessary, including:
collecting the mortgage payments, ensuring that the taxes and insurance charges are paid promptly,
and sending an annual report on the mortgage and escrow accounts.
Servicing Released: A stipulation in the agreement for the sale of mortgages
in which the Lender is not responsible for servicing the loan.
Servicing Retained: A loan sale in which the original lender's servicing
department continues to service the loan after the sale to a secondary institution or investor.
Settlement Statement: Also referred to as a HUD-1 Settlement Statement. The
complete breakdown of costs involved in the real estate transaction for both the seller and
buyer.
Single-Family Attached Home: A single-family dwelling that is attached to
other single-family dwellings.
Single-Family Detached Home: A freestanding dwelling for a single family
Survey: A measurement of land, prepared by a registered land surveyor, showing
the location of the land with reference to known points, its dimensions and the location and
dimensions of any improvements.
Subordinate Financing: An additional lien against the real estate securing
borrowers first mortgage. This lien takes second priority to the first mortgage.
Subsequent Rate Adjustment: Maximum rate decrease: In association with an
Adjustable Rate Mortgage loan, this is the most the interest rate can decrease when it is
scheduled for reevaluation and possible adjustment.
Subsequent Rate Adjustment: Maximum rate increase: In association with an
Adjustable Rate Mortgage loan, this is the most the interest rate can increase when it is
scheduled for reevaluation and possible adjustment.
Subsequent Rate Adjustment: Next ARM Adjustment Date: In association with
an Adjustable Rate Mortgage loan, this is the date scheduled for the next reevaluation and
possible adjustment.
Subsequent Rate Adjustment: Rate Change Frequency: In association with an
Adjustable Rate Mortgage loan, this is the frequency in which possible adjustments may be
made to the interest rate amount for Adjustable Rate Mortgages after the initial adjustment.
Tax Rates: Tax levied by the federal government and some states based on
a person's income. Federal income tax rates vary depending on a person's adjusted gross income.
Tax Savings: The amount saved on taxes by itemizing deductions on income
tax returns.
Title: The evidence to the right to or ownership in property. In the case
of real estate, the documentary evidence of ownership is the title deed, which specifies in
whom the legal state is vested and the history of ownership and transfers. Title may be acquired
through purchase, inheritance, devise, gift or through the foreclosure of a mortgage.
Title Insurance Policy: A contract by which the insurer, usually a title
company, indicates who has legal title and agrees to pay the insured a specific amount of
any loss caused by clouds, claims or defects of title to real estate, which the insured has
an interest as owner, mortgagee or otherwise.
(a) Owner's Title Policy: Usually issued to the landowner himself. The owner's
title insurance policy is bought and paid for only once and then continues in force without
any further payment. Owner's Title Insurance policies are not assignable.
(b) Mortgagee's Title Policy: Issued to the mortgagee and terminates when
the mortgage debt is paid. In the event of foreclosure, or if the mortgagee acquires title
from the mortgagor in lieu of foreclosure, the policy continues in force, giving continued
protection against any defects of title which existed at, or prior to, the date of the policy.
Treasury Bills: Interest bearing U.S. Government obligations sold at a weekly
sale. The change in interest rates paid on these obligations is frequently used as the Rate
Index for Adjustable Mortgage Loans.
Truth in Lending (TIL): The name given to the federal statues and regulations
(Regulation Z) which are designed primarily to insure that prospective Borrowers of credit
received credit and cost information before concluding a loan transaction.
Underwriting (Mortgage Loans): The process of evaluating a loan application
to determine the risk involved for the lender. It involves an analysis of the borrower's creditworthiness
and the quality of the property itself.
Verification of Deposit (VOD): Form used in mortgage lending to verify the
deposits or assets of a prospective borrower when monthly statements are unavailable or unusable.
Verification of Employment (VOE): Form used in mortgage lending to verify
the employment and income of a prospective borrower when pay stubs and W2 forms are unavailable
or unusable.
Verification of Mortgage (VOM): Form used in mortgage lending to verify the
existing mortgage balance, monthly payments and late payments, if any.
Verification of Rent: Form used in
mortgage lending to verify monthly rents paid and late payments, if
any.
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